March 18
- Florida Keys History Center

- 2 hours ago
- 2 min read

1846 – Two wrecking cases were settled in the Key West court: Wreckers were awarded $3500 for the successful recovery of the ship Southport and, in the case of the brig Mary, the salvagers were given 50% on a $1000 valuation of the “very old” vessel and its cargo.
1909 – A Key West man died of leprosy in his house on Virginia Street. The house and contents were destroyed by fire under the direction of Fire Chief Fulford.
1926 – The Key West City Council discussed buying tracts of land owned by the federal government near the West Martello Tower and the foot of Whitehead Street for community parks. The city clerk was instructed to communicate with Washington about the availability and prices of the land.
1934 – Governor Gifford Pinchot of Pennsylvania was made an honorary life member of the Long Key Fishing Club. The Governor and his party spent several weeks fishing at the club.
1955 – A mysterious, early morning fire destroyed the living quarters of Key Largo’s famed Caribbean Club, killing Emma Jo Selby of Miami.
1958 – The DePoo Hospital at 918 Southard Street in Key West was formally opened.
1960 – Mitchell Wolfson and family attended the formal opening and dedication of the Audubon House as Key West’s, and Florida’s, newest historical museum.
2011 – Key West was seeing an influx of “exotic” chicken breeds that were distinct from the island’s long-established feral chicken population. One especially large type was mistakenly thought by some locals to be a cross between a turkey and a chicken.
Information compiled by Dr. Corey Malcom, Lead Historian, Monroe County Public Library, Florida Keys History Center.
Image: The Caribbean Club on Key Largo after the March 18, 1955, fire that killed a woman. Photo by Don Pinder. Monroe County Public Library, Florida Keys History Center.




