August 29
- Florida Keys History Center

- 5 hours ago
- 1 min read

1864 – John Whitehead died in New York. He had been a partner of John Simonton, John Fleming, and Pardon Greene as the first American owners of Key West.
1926 – Monroe County Sheriff Cleveland Niles found a severely ill Tampa man lying in a Duval Street garage, and it was learned he was a narcotic addict sick from a lack of “dope.” He was taken to jail and given a shot of morphine. Arrangements were made to return him to the care of his wife.
1927 – The Key West Planning and Zoning Board met for the first time. The members of the board were: Chairman W.W. Demeritt, L.T. Bragassa, Miss Mollie Parker, A.C. Elgin and Emory Pierce.
1956 – The Key West High School on Flagler Avenue was opened. Grades eight through twelve went into the new facility, and all sixth and seventh graders were transferred to the old high school on White Street, which was renamed Memorial Junior High.
1965 – Senator George Smathers was the main speaker at Monroe Junior College on Fort Street.
Information compiled by Dr. Corey Malcom, Lead Historian, Monroe County Public Library, Florida Keys History Center.
Image: Key West High School, 2100 Flagler Avenue, ca. 1960. Wright Langley Collection. Monroe County Public Library, Florida Keys History Center.




