top of page


August 26
1936 – To generate funds for maintenance, the Key West Aquarium began charging an admission fee. The price of entry was 15 cents for adults and five cents for children.

Florida Keys History Center
4 days ago1 min read


August 12
1923 – Monroe County commissioners voted 4-1 in favor of a $300,000 bond issue as a first step toward construction of a proposed “Overseas Highway” to run from the mainland to Key West.

Florida Keys History Center
Aug 112 min read


August 3
1995 – Fire destroyed the Copa nightclub and adjoining buildings in the 600 block of Duval Street. It was the worst fire in Key West in 72 years.

Florida Keys History Center
Aug 21 min read


August 1
1966 – A glut of frozen stock left over from the previous season’s catch drove down the price of Florida Keys spiny lobster to 37 cents per pound on the opening day of the new season. Many crawfishermen threatened to hold off fishing until prices rose.

Florida Keys History Center
Jul 312 min read


July 14
1966 – A man driving a green panel truck and claiming to be from the Humane Society was stealing stray dogs from Key West streets. Mrs. Janice White, president of the local Humane Society, said the man had no association with the group and that he was likely selling the dogs to medical laboratories.

Florida Keys History Center
Jul 132 min read


July 7
1966 – The Key West Yacht Club opened its new marina with 48 berths for vessels up to 70 feet, a fuel dock, 110- and 220-volt electricity, and a blacktop road leading to the docks from North Roosevelt Boulevard.

Florida Keys History Center
Jul 61 min read


July 1
1976 – Key Wester Frank Balbontin sent a painted wood carving he made of the White House to President Gerald Ford as a Bicentennial gift from the island. It had taken Balbontin six months to complete the 24x36-inch artwork.

Florida Keys History Center
Jun 301 min read


June 29
1905 – An appropriation of nearly $500,000 was authorized for improvements at the Key West Naval Station, including new buildings, an extension of the coal sheds, and the construction of a quay wall from the sheds to Fort Taylor.

Florida Keys History Center
Jun 282 min read


June 18
1924 – A contest to name the new hotel being built at the corner of Duval and Fleming streets in Key West was drawing many entries. Some of the suggestions: Hotel Aubuchon, The Miramar, Trail’s End, Juan Salas, La Concha, Hotel Mariposa, The Palms Inn, La Mascota, and the Dolphin.

Florida Keys History Center
Jun 171 min read


June 5
1905 – The Island City Bank was organized in Key West, and the following officers were elected: George S. Waite, president; C.R. Pierce, vice president; and E.M. Martin, cashier. The board of directors were: T.A. Sweeting, J.M. Phipps, J.T. Sawyer, and Richard Peacon.

Florida Keys History Center
Jun 42 min read


May 31
1958 – Boog Powell was the leading hitter for the Key West High School varsity baseball team. Across the ’58 season, Powell had 27 hits in 64 at bats for a .415 average, along with 21 RBIs.

Florida Keys History Center
May 302 min read


May 29
1962 – A team from the Florida Road Department was in Key West to survey for the possibility of constructing a bridge across Garrison Bight. The proposed bridge, running from somewhere between First and Fifth Streets and connecting to Palm Avenue, would ease traffic congestion and provide a base for a new marina.

Florida Keys History Center
May 282 min read


May 15
1855 – Ellen Mallory, a Key West resident since 1822, died on the island at the age of 64. After her husband died in 1825, leaving her alone with two young sons, she opened the island’s first boarding house, which she then ran for many years. Mallory “possessed an extraordinary fund of good sense, wit, and humor, which ever made her an agreeable companion,” said her obituary.

Florida Keys History Center
May 142 min read


April 29
1947 – Jack Dietz announced that a contract for $62,900 had been let to build the 28-room Blue Marlin Motel on Simonton Street in Key West.

Florida Keys History Center
Apr 282 min read


April 27
1976 – The Monroe County Courthouse in Key West was being renovated for the upcoming national Bicentennial celebration. Among the improvements were new flooring and new interior paint. A 20-by-8-foot mural depicting the history of the Keys was also being rendered by artist Paul Stevens.

Florida Keys History Center
Apr 272 min read


April 22
1953 – The crew filming the movie “Beneath the 12 Mile Reef” arrived and took over the Casa Marina Hotel. The movie starred Terry Moore, Robert Wagner, Peter Graves, and J. Carroll Nash, who arrived with the rest of the crew. Seventy-five locals were used as extras in the film.

Florida Keys History Center
Apr 212 min read


April 18
1926 – Monroe County Sheriff Roland Curry arrested the promoter of a Stock Island cockfighting arena while a fight was underway. Fala Rodriguez was charged with cruelty to animals and placed under $100 bond.

Florida Keys History Center
Apr 172 min read


March 20
1976 – The long-time home of Alvin and Eva Scott at 814 Windsor Lane in Key West was destroyed by fire. Passers-by rescued the elderly couple from the burning house, with Mrs. Scott requiring particular assistance, as she was completely blind.

Florida Keys History Center
Mar 192 min read


January 29
1926 – Percy A. Cook was sales manager for the Tropical Isles Sales Corporation, a New Jersey company selling Florida Keys realty. Cook had a home on Cook’s Island, one of the Newfound Harbor Keys.

Florida Keys History Center
Jan 292 min read


January 7
1964 – The Florida cabinet authorized the construction of missile sites by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on Boca Chica and Fleming keys. The permanent sites would be used as part of the line of defense against Cuba..

Florida Keys History Center
Jan 72 min read
News
bottom of page

