Home » Archive

Articles Archive for August 2010

Staff Favorites »

[31 Aug 2010 | No Comment | ]
Historical fiction for youngsters — and the rest of us

“A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver,” E.L. Konigsburg’s classic take on Eleanor of Acquitaine, is a terrific introduction to this fascinating historical character. Eleanor — whom most of us may know from her portrayal by Katharine Hepburn in the movie “The Lion in Winter.” Eleanor was a remarkable woman — heiress to Acquitaine, Queen of France and Queen of England.
This book takes an interesting approach to her story. Eleanor is in heaven, waiting to see if her second husband, Henry II of England, will be allowed Up after centuries …

Uncategorized »

[26 Aug 2010 | No Comment | ]
SMALL CRAFT ADVISORY!

SMALL CRAFTS, SMALL STORIES, SMALL GAMES FOR SMALL PEOPLE. JOIN US FOR TODDLER TIME ON FRIDAY MORNINGS AT 10:30.

Uncategorized »

[23 Aug 2010 | No Comment | ]
Missing your “My List”?

During the frenzy of  last month, when we were migrating from one system to another, I neglected to let our customers know that their “My List” entries were going to be disappearing with the old catalog. Ouch! Many of you had cultivated very impressive “Want to Read” lists of titles, organized into multiple categories, like “Home Decorating”, “Nutrition”, “Historical Fiction”. Ouch, again.
Luckily, the Undo Fairy (his name is really Eric) has provided us another opportunity to access those lists.

News Across the Keys, Teens Headline »

[15 Aug 2010 | No Comment | ]
New reading recommendations

The monthly BookNews has just been published and features dozens of new titles.

Uncategorized »

[13 Aug 2010 | No Comment | ]
Some tax relief–but hurry!

Jump on the Sales Tax Holiday for books, clothing, school supplies and more, Friday through Sunday, August 13-15.

Uncategorized »

[11 Aug 2010 | One Comment | ]
In Memory of Carolyn Fuller

The Key West Library staff is deeply saddened by the passing of longtime patron and Key West icon, Carolyn Fuller. “Miz. Fuller” frequented the library long before most of our staff was born. She is remembered as being wonderfully particular and careful in her reading choices. We just can’t imagine not seeing her at the library anymore. A few rememberances from library staff:
-She claimed that her glorious gray hair was the result of a final rinse from her rainbarrel.
-Her Conch Cruiser, festooned with swirling autumn leaves, was a welcome sight …

Staff Favorites »

[11 Aug 2010 | No Comment | ]
Binky the space cat is my new hero!

 Yes the is a juvenile aged graphic novel.  But as an allmost certified “crazy cat lady” I could not resist.  
Every house needs a Binky to protect it from aliens.  Just remember the crunchy ones might cause gas!  
Ever shared your home with a cat?  No matter what your age give yourself a fun ten minute break and giggle your way through this great little book.

Staff Favorites »

[11 Aug 2010 | No Comment | ]
Shadow Tag by Louise Erdrich

What would you do if your significant other suspected you of having an affair and consequently began reading your private journal?  What does Irene America do?  In an attempt to drive her husband, Gil, crazy enough to let her out of what she sees as a failed marriage Irene begins keeping twojournals.  One in which she writes of the affair and other untruths about her marriage–that’s the one she leaves for Gil to find; the other “real” journal she keeps in a safe deposit box. 

FAQs »

[9 Aug 2010 | 23 Comments | ]

Administration
Norma Kula,  Director of Libraries (305)853-7349 Email: kula-norma@monroecounty-fl.gov
Valerie Moore, Business Manager (305)809-5266 Email: moore-valerie@monroecounty-fl.gov
Anne Layton Rice,  Library Administrator (305)292-3594 Email: rice-anne@monroecounty-fl.gov
Tom Hambright,  Senior Librarian–Florida History (305)809-5260 Email: hambright-tom@monroecounty-fl.gov
Breana Sowers, Senior Librarian–Archivist (305)809-5260 Email: sowers-breana@monroecounty-fl.gov
Key West Library
Main Phone: (305)292-3595
Nancy Howanitz,  Administrator Library Headquarters (305)809-5256 Email: howanitz-nancy@monroecounty-fl.gov
Robin Henderson,  Sr. Librarian Reference  (305)809-5253 Email: henderson-robin@monroecounty-fl.gov
Kris Neihouse, Circulation Librarian (305)292-3595 Email: neihouse-kris@monroecounty-fl.gov
Patricia Blanco, Sr. Librarian Youth Services (305) 809-5257 Email: blanco-patricia@monroecounty-fl.gov
Big Pine Key Library
Stephen Chambers,  Library Manager (305)872-0992 Email: chambers-stephen@monroecounty-fl.gov
Marathon Library
Cristy Danford,  Library Manager (305)743-5156 Email: danford-cristy@monroecounty-fl.gov
Islamorada Library
Kathy Ebert,  Library Manager (305)664-4645 Email: ebert-kathy@monroecounty-fl.gov
Key Largo Library
Paulette Sullivan,  Library Manager (305)451-2396 Email: sullivan-paulette@monroecounty-fl.gov